Blog

Physiotherapy Course Fees in India (BPT Fees Explained)

In this article
    Physiotherapy Course Fees in India (BPT Fees Explained)

    Physiotherapy course fees in India run from a few thousand rupees a year in some government seats to several lakh a year in private institutions. Two colleges can charge very different amounts for the same BPT degree, and the number on a website often leaves out costs that come later. This guide explains what sets the fee, what to ask before you pay, and how the fee works at Apollo Healthcare Academy (AHA).

    Our fee in short: the tuition fee for the Bachelor of Physiotherapy at AHA is ₹2.5 lakh per annum, and it is a five-year programme that ends with a one-year internship.

    What decides physiotherapy course fees

    Four things move the fee more than anything else.

    • Type of institution. Government colleges set fees through the state, and they are much lower. Private colleges and private universities set their own fee. This is why you will see a wide gap between bpt course fees in government college seats and bpt course fees in private college seats.
    • Seat type. One college can charge different fees for the same course depending on how you get the seat: a state counselling seat, a management or institutional seat, or an NRI seat.
    • Course length. BPT is not the same length everywhere. Some colleges run four years plus a six-month internship, others run four years plus a full year of internship. A lower fee per year can still cost more over a longer course.
    • What the fee covers. Some colleges bundle exam, lab and clinical charges into one figure. Others list them separately.

    What colleges publish: four fee examples

    The table shows what four colleges state on their own pages, as we read them in October 2026. It is a way to see the spread, not a ranking, and fees change every session, so check the college’s page before you decide.

    College Course length Fee as published
    Era University, Lucknow 5 years (4 years plus 1 year of compulsory internship) ₹1,15,000 tuition a year, “excluding internship fee”, plus ₹9,000 exam fee a year
    SGT University, Gurugram 4 years plus a 6-month internship ₹1,90,000 a year, covering tuition, lab access and clinical training
    M S Ramaiah University of Applied Sciences, Bengaluru 4.5 years including a 6-month internship ₹3,50,000 a year for 2026-27
    K J Somaiya College of Physiotherapy, Mumbai Not stated on the page ₹1,76,000 a year for a state counselling seat, ₹5,28,000 for an institutional quota seat, ₹8,80,000 for an NRI seat, plus ₹10,000 refundable caution money

    Two things stand out. The yearly fee ranges from about ₹1.15 lakh to ₹3.5 lakh among these private and university-run colleges. And a single college, Somaiya, lists three different fees for one course, which is why you should always ask which seat a quoted fee is for.

    Fees in government colleges

    Government colleges charge far less, but seats are limited and are filled through state counselling or an entrance process. Each state publishes its own fee schedule and admission rules, so the right place to check is the state counselling brochure for the year you apply. We do not quote a single national figure for government fees because we found no official source that gives one.

    Does physiotherapy need NEET?

    It depends on the college and the state. Some institutions admit on NEET scores. Somaiya’s page says admission is through NEET merit. Era University’s page says NEET UG becomes mandatory from 2027. Others hold their own entrance test or take students on Class 12 marks. Read the admission notice of each college you are considering rather than relying on a general answer.

    Physiotherapy fees at Apollo Healthcare Academy

    If you are looking at physiotherapy course after 12th options, here is how our Bachelor of Physiotherapy (B.PT) is set up, taken from our Bachelor of Physiotherapy programme page.

    • Tuition fee: ₹2.5 lakh per annum.
    • Programme length: five years, with the final year as a one-year internship.
    • Eligibility: 10+2 or equivalent with Physics, Chemistry and Biology and at least 50% aggregate marks from a recognised board. Students with a PCM background who take Biology as a supplementary course are also eligible.
    • Age: 17 years as on 31 December of the calendar year of admission.
    • Degree: awarded by our partner university. See the partner universities page for details.
    • Training: hands-on learning in hospitals. Our partner hospitals page lists where.

    Our programme page gives the fee as an annual figure and does not state a programme total. Ask for the year-wise fee schedule before you pay, including the internship year, and compare colleges on total cost, not only the yearly figure.

    You can see every programme we offer on the programmes page, and the steps to apply are on the admissions page.

    Scholarships on the BPT fee

    Scholarships are tuition fee waivers based on a composite score: half from the AHA Scholarship Test and half from your Class 12 aggregate. A score of 95 and above earns a 25% waiver, 90 to 94.99 earns 15%, and 85 to 89.99 earns 10%. Awards go in order of score until 10% of the intake is filled, so reaching a slab does not guarantee a waiver. The rules for the 2026-27 session are on the scholarship page.

    What the tuition fee may not include

    A fee that looks low can grow once other charges are added. Before you compare, ask each college for a written list covering:

    • Admission or registration fee, paid once
    • Exam fees each year (Era University charges ₹9,000 a year on top of tuition)
    • Internship fee (Era’s tuition is stated “excluding internship fee”)
    • Caution money or security deposit (Somaiya takes ₹10,000, refundable)
    • Hostel, mess and transport
    • Books, uniform, lab and clinical charges, if not already inside the tuition figure
    • Any yearly increase in fees

    How to compare physiotherapy fees fairly

    1. Write down the total, not only the yearly fee. Multiply by the number of years you will pay, including the internship year if it is charged.
    2. Match the course length. A 4.5-year course and a five-year course cannot be compared on yearly fee alone.
    3. Match the seat. Ask whether the fee is for a counselling seat, a management seat or an NRI seat.
    4. Add the extras from the list above.
    5. Subtract any scholarship you are likely to receive, and remember it is not guaranteed.
    6. Check where the internship happens and whether the hospitals are named.

    Is the fee worth it?

    A physiotherapy degree opens roles such as physiotherapist, sports physiotherapist, neuro physiotherapist, orthopaedic physiotherapist, critical care physiotherapist, rehabilitation specialist, community physiotherapist and physiotherapy consultant. We provide job and placement support to our students, but it does not guarantee employment. Rather than trusting any promised salary, judge the course on the training: how many hospital hours, which hospitals, and who awards the degree.

    Frequently asked questions

    What is the BPT fee at Apollo Healthcare Academy? The tuition fee for our Bachelor of Physiotherapy is ₹2.5 lakh per annum, as stated on our programme page. Scholarships can reduce it under the rules above.

    How much does a physiotherapy course cost in India? It depends on the college type and the seat. The four colleges in the table above state yearly fees from about ₹1.15 lakh to ₹3.5 lakh, and some seats cost more. Government seats cost much less.

    Is the BPT fee charged per year or for the whole course? Most colleges quote it per year, but some quote a total. Check the wording on the fee page and ask for the year-wise schedule.

    Which is cheaper, a government or a private physiotherapy college? Government colleges are cheaper, but seats are limited and are filled through state counselling or an entrance process. Private colleges charge more and admit through their own process.

    Does the physiotherapy fee include the internship? It depends on the college. Era University states its tuition excludes the internship fee. For our programme, ask for the year-wise fee schedule, including the internship year.

    Are there scholarships for BPT at AHA? Yes. Scholarships are tuition fee waivers of 25%, 15% or 10% based on a composite score, given until 10% of the intake is filled. Details are on our scholarship page.

    Does physiotherapy need NEET? That depends on the college and state. Some admit through NEET, while others use their own test or Class 12 marks. Read each college’s admission notice.

    Can a student with PCM do BPT? Our programme page lists 10+2 with Physics, Chemistry and Biology and at least 50% aggregate marks. It also allows students with a PCM background who take Biology as a supplementary course.

    What is the cheapest way to study BPT? A government seat through state counselling is usually the lowest-cost route. Otherwise, compare total cost across colleges and see whether you qualify for a scholarship.

    How do I get admission in BPT physiotherapy? It depends on the college. Government seats are filled through state counselling after an entrance exam or NEET. Private colleges and universities set their own process, which can be an entrance test, NEET scores or Class 12 marks. For our programme, the steps and documents are on our admissions page.

    Is MBBS necessary for physiotherapy? No. BPT is its own degree that you can join after Class 12 science. MBBS is a different course and is not needed to study BPT.

    Fee figures for other colleges were taken from their own pages in October 2026 and may change. Always confirm with the college.

    Ready to start your allied health career?

    akash-jha

    Written by akash-jha